Skip to content

Week 9 – Recapitulation

There’s officially 5 weeks left of Genius Hour #1. Over this time, there are a few things I must complete:

  • Find an expert that can help me improve
  • Create a final project(s) that will demonstrate my improvement over the years
  • Compile all the evidence I’ve had into a slideshow of some sort
  • Create a timeline? Something that can show some timestamps regarding artworks, changes in genius hour plan, etc.

I will add more to this as I go.

Recap

On the first week of this genius hour project, I decided to go with a improvement in digital art. After 2 artworks, I decided that this is maybe not the best idea. I found that it took a lot of time jumping through the different layers, and I wasn’t very familiar with the brushes. It took a tremendous amount of time, which, at the time, worked, but I was later going to become very busy. In order to have continued, I must have had to have an extremely well-managed time. I also lost interest after a while and noticed that watercolour was a very fun art medium to work with. Not only that, but I had all the materials required to do it, and it took way less time as I was more familiar with traditional art. Now, instead of an apple pencil and an ipad, I use brushes, paint, paper, etc.

Expert??

I have no idea what to do with an expert. At first, I wanted to find the school’s art teacher, Ms. Serfozo. But, Mrs. Englot recommended that we should find someone outside of the school building as that would challenge our skills to be able to have some real-world knowledge. I haven’t done anything yet, but I have some things considered:

  1. I used to go to a art place called 4cats. They have excellent sketchbooks but after a quick search on the internet, it was found that they may or may not have closed down. I also looked into it and it seemed that they worked more with pottery and clay than paint. Either way, they would be very far from where I live, so my parents would probably say no.
  2. Find one of my old art teachers, but it would be awkward as they both teach in mandarin which means that i would have to translate and that may take some time. Also because it is difficult to contact them again as I haven’t been taking any art sessions recently.
  3. Find Ms. Serfozo and inquire about any art people she knows. That way, I can be backed up by saying that Ms. Serfozo has recommended me/them and maybe I can possibly be able to reach some people with a lot of art background

Those are my ideas for now. This afternoon, during options, I can ask Ms. Serfozo about that and see what she says. If I’m lucky, I will be able to recieve a phone number or email. If not, I will have to resort to plan b.

End Project

I think an end project would be great to finish off this project. Not only would it take more than 1 week, but it will help me document my project more immensely and that it would signal as a wrap-up for this project.

  1. I was going to think of doing mixed-media, and that it would be cool since it could show all of the mediums I’ve worked with
  2. I will also show some mix-media from before.
  3. I had a previous idea, which I mentioned a few posts ago. It was about creating a card deck. I could do 4 cards every week or something! It would be great to work on proportions, bordering, and colours. I plan to use watercolour paper to make the cards, instead of actually painting on cards as that would be difficult.
  4. Something involving a canvas? I’ve tried before and it has failed miserably…

Compiling EVERYTHING.

It just hit me that I could include art projects from when I was younger. As in when I just moved to Canada and went to those community center projects and stuff. I hope that a showcase of stuff when I was younger would really signify what I have come from, what I used to do, and what I do now. Not only that, but the showcase on a slideshow would be a great memory for me to keep.

Finding EVERYTHING.

In order to document and take pictures, I must find them. Luckily, I know where most of the stuff is, unless something changes drastically from now until February.

Timeline?

Yeah, that’s going to be hard. I will only do it from September 2022 – February 2023. I’ll draw it on paper because I’m too unfamiliar to create it on computer.

Overall

I guess I did lose interest over time on digital art. I hope I won’t give up on it in the future, if I do decide to try again for the third time. I’m not sad that I did, as it would have been harmful to my eyesight too. I just didn’t have the most crucial material required for it: Time. I’m excited for the next project as I will have more time cleared out after May. If all goes well, this project will end off well.

Published inArt TechniqueGenius Hour

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar